Baking Slump

Ok I’m going to say it, I’m in a massive baking slump. The thing that makes it worse is I don’t know why? I shouldn’t be, I always enjoy making cakes and stepping into the kitchen to essentially de-stress but for two months now I have hardly baked anything. Except that is my monthly challenge,…

One of Us is Lying – Karen M. McManus

As some of you know, I am trying to work on getting my TBR pile down. As much as I love receiving/buying new books I have realised that I actually have a large number waiting to be read on my shelfs so thought why not put some more focus in reading them and only reading…

These Days of Ours – Juliet Ashton

If you follow me on GoodReads (and if you don’t but would like to add me here) then you would have seen that this has been on my ‘currently reading’ shelf since September of last year and if I am honest I am just very happy that it is no longer on the list. Let’s…

Unravelling Oliver – Liz Nugent

Synopsis Liz Nugent’s gripping novel of psychological suspense, Unravelling Oliver, is a complex and elegant study of the making of a sociopath in the tradition of Barbara Vine and Patricia Highsmith. Oliver Ryan is a handsome and charismatic success story. He lives in the suburbs with his wife, Alice, who illustrates his award-winning children’s books…

January Bakes

January has been a very bad month for me baking wise. I have (by memory) only baked one thing and this was my #12MonthBOC bake. If you have missed me talking about my monthly challenge you can read all about it here. I have cooked other things but this has been more daily food and…

Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine – Gail Honeyman

I have been wanting to read this book for a while now. When it had just released I requested it on Netgalley but wasn’t lucky enough to get a copy. I put it on my wish list and then months (I’m taking months) later I received an email to say that my wish had been…

Books I read in January

This year I have decided I am going to start to (try to) split up my monthly wrap ups. I thought that at the end of last year my wrap up posts were getting a bit too long. So instead, I thought I will try to have separate wrap ups for books and baking. So…

January NetGalley Picks – Part Three

Not long after I posted my January NetGalley picks part two, I found out that I was accepted for a few more books. So I thought I would share these with you also. Lying to You – Amansa Reynolds The blurb on Netgalley has said the below and I am very interested in this one…

Buddy Reading

Sometimes its just really nice to know that your not alone when reading. Don’t get me wrong sometimes its amazing to be emerged in a book but sometimes it really gives you a boost to read along with someone else. It gives you someone to talk to, to discuss items with and most importantly it…

The Fear – C.L.Taylor

I have been seeing this slowly starting to pop up across my social channels and heard all good things about this book. I just knew that it would be good, I have (what it feels like) only recently discovered Cally’s writing and she is a genius. So when I saw her share the news it…

White Bodies – Jane Robins

Synopsis Felix and Tilda seem like the perfect couple: young and in love, a financier and a beautiful up-and-coming starlet. But behind their flawless facade, not everything is as it seems. Callie, Tilda’s unassuming twin, has watched her sister visibly shrink under Felix’s domineering love. She has looked on silently as Tilda stopped working, nearly…

January #12MonthBOC

Some of you may know that this year for Christmas my sisters decided to give me a challenge for the year ahead (in addition to some other awesome gifts). In steps @FueltheBlog (‘s) #12MonthBOC. Each month they will share a challenge to complete that month over at (WEBSITE) and I will have to complete it…