Rolo® Centred Cookies

Ok so I want to warn you now. This is a great recipe and it has proved very popular not only with my boyfriend but his work colleagues and mine. I will 100% be making them again because just re-looking at my pictures and the original recipe by Sally’s Baking Addiction is making my mouth water.

So lets get to it shall we before I try to eat the screen!

I found this recipe on Facebook, I think it was being promoted but I don’t care because it found me! Although, slightly strange I watch videos on Facebook all the time of food/baking, yet this is the first item I have decided to make!

The recipe comes from Sally’s Baking Addiction and was originally posted on her page in 2013. Its still relevant let me tell you! You can find the original recipe here, along with lots and lots of other baking wonders. Turns out Sally also has TWO cook books and is just a wonder in the kitchen! Seriously go check her out!

So lets get to the recipe shall we. Sally calls them Salted Caramel Chocolate Chip Cookies – however as I love that they have Rolo® centres I thought I would call them Rolo® Cookies!

The original recipe was in American measurements (cups) so I have transformed this into what I used. It worked well for me, however if you think I have missed something let me know!


Tools 
  • Two large Baking Tray’s 
  • Whisk 
  • Mixing Bowls (Large, Medium) 
  • Spatular
  • Metal Spoon
  • Scales
  • Measuring Jug 
  • Greaseproof Paper 

Ingredients
  • 280g of Plain Flour 
  • 1 tsp Baking Powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp Corn Flour
  • 1/2 tsp Salt 
  • 170g Unsalted Butter, melted
  • 150g Light Brown Sugar, loosely packed
  • 100g Granulated Sugar
  • 1 Large Egg + 1 Egg Yolk 
  • 2 tsp Vanilla Extract
  • 180g Chocolate Chips, divided in half
  • 15 Rolo®’s
  • Sea Salt

Method

Note: Prepare the dough first, it will need at least 2 hours chill time in the fridge or up to 3 days. Essentially the longer chill the better the cookie!

1. Mix together the flour, baking powder, corn flour and salt in a large bowl and leave to one side. 

2. In a medium bowl, whisk together the melted butter, brown sugar and white sugar together until no lumps remain. Then whisk in the egg and the egg yolk and once combined add in the vanilla extract. 

3. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and mix together until combined to form a dough. Use something large and sturdy here i.e spatular or a large spoon. I say this as my spatular wasn’t sturdy enough…

Add 1/2 of your chocolate chips and spread throughout the mixture. Then cover and leave to chill as mentioned above they need a min of 2 hours chilling or up to three days. I opted for 4 hours chill time and they worked well…next time I think I would prep the day before. 

img_3847

–CHILL TIME–

4. Once you have given your dough chance to chill, take it out of the fridge and allow too soften at room temperature. 

5. Pre-heat the oven to 140c (Fan Assisted oven). Line your trays with greaseproof paper and set to one side whilst you prep the cookies. 

6. Roll the dough into balls, you should roughly have 30 balls…I had 28. (Make sure you have an even number of balls, as you will be merging the two to make one) Make sure they are also the same size, Not too big, Sally recommends 1.5tbsp each, as you will be merging them together. 

7. Make a thumb sized print in 1/2 of the balls to give room for the Rolo®, place the Rolo® inside and then cover with a separate dough ball and merge to make one cookie. Make sure the Rolo® is completely hidden inside. Flatten slightly and add to baking tray. Make sure there’s enough space between the cookies to allow for growth when cooking. 

8. Put one batch into the fridge as you bake the 1st batch. Bake for 12-13 minutes – no longer than 13 minutes – they will come out looking as though they are undercooked but they cook slightly on the baking sheet so don’t worry! (I worried – don’t, they are delicious – trust Sally!!)

9. Allow cookies to cool on sheet slightly then on a wire rack. Once cool, transfer to a air tight container and they can keep up to 7 days (still soft and slightly better the next day).

The original recipe states that you can freeze the cookies for up to 3 months! GENIUS! You just bake them for 13-14 minutes. So have to say I may have to try that next time also. I also want to experiment with new centres! I am a big fan of Double Deckers and Lion Bars, I think they could be delicious so may try those someday soon.

As you can tell I was extremely happy with these cookies, I will make them again (and again and again), probably prepping the dough a day before I want to bake just to give it a bit of extra time to be yummy! I would also potentially use less chocolate chips but thats a personal choice so if you like lots of them, keep adding!!

Have you tried making these cookies before, or do you have any alternate recipes? I would love to hear them!

Don’t forget to go check out Sally’s Baking Addiction and find some more yummy recipes for you to make! I am already scrolling seeing what I can make next!

Until next time!

George

x

P.s. Sorry for the bad pictures – I really need to start using my proper camera…or stop baking late at night – either one really!

 

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

