The Woman Who Met Her Match – Fiona Gibson

I have been seeing this book a lot recently on Instagram so when I saw it on Netgalley I jumped at the chance and requested it to read. I was lucky enough to be selected to read a preview so I thought I would tell you all about my experience here as I normally do!

The Plot:

Lorrie, is a single 40+ year old woman with a good job, two teenage kids and a lodger. Life is good for Lorrie and even though her kids think its time for her to date, Lorrie is not finding the right men and after another disaster in the dating world has decided it should stop there.

Then her first love contacts her on Facebook…30 years later and he wants to meet up with Lorrie. But Lorrie can’t drop everything and be with the guy who broke her heart all those years ago…can she?

Full blurb here.

My Thoughts:

I want to say that first and foremost, this book is promising. Very promising, but personally I thought it had downfalls also.

For example, the blurb on GoodReads leads you to believe that its a simple book where she meets her teenage love and thats all that happens. When in fact she has life issues to deal with also and as they were a big part of the book I feel they should have been highlighted a bit more. Granted I am not an expert in this area so who am I to know, just as a reader, I would have liked the blurb to be more about Lorrie, just like the book.


Saying that, I have to express that I think this is a lovely book full of hope and I honestly believe this would be a great holiday read where you can sit and read it all in one go. As reading it over a few lunchtimes left me wanting more. For example, I got to 53% of the way through the book and nothing drastic had happened we were still learning about Lorrie, her job, her life status and the love of her teenage life coming back into her life 30 years later. But if I remember rightly it was at this point and they hadn’t even met (Hence my disappointment of the blurb!).

I love the idea of this book though. I personally haven’t read a book focusing on a middle aged woman, her love life, work life and family life and it was refreshing to see a love story from an older woman! I just wish it got to the point a bit quicker.

Maybe I didn’t enjoy it as much as I had a very busy month only managing glances at points and I hand on heart believe this could be the reason I’m  not singing it’s praises. I think if I was on holiday, I would be able to finish it in a day and then my relationship with the book may be different, I feel as though I could have loved this book had I picked it up at the right moment.

I enjoyed reading about Lorries life, even if I could tell what was going to happen! She was a very relatable character and even though the story dragged a bit, the author managed to skim unnecessary information for the reader and I enjoyed that! (Obviously not in a bad way, I’m talking stuff like getting of a train! Mundane stuff)

I would love to hear more from Lorrie and her tales. She was an impressive woman, and I loved her and her family. We all like a good female role in a book, so thank you Fiona for bringing Lorrie to us!

So all in all, if you were looking for a holiday read I would reccomend this one as you can become quickly abosorbed in the story, not hard to read. Just I dont think it was right for me. It needed a little something else…even if I am not quite sure what it is.

Also, side note I wasn’t a major fan of how it ended! I wanted more from it! But I guess that’s the moral of the whole book in my opinion!

Have you read this? Would love to hear your thoughts! Its received great reviews on GoodReads which also leads me to believe that I may have picked this up at the wrong time! Annoyed at myself slightly, but I guess thats why we love a book. We all interpret the information differently.

Until next time!
George.

 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Annie says:

    Have you thought about changing the publicize section so we can share your posts with your twitter handle included? I did it manually this time but it’d be easier πŸ˜€

    Great review, loved the pic you chose! Im always boring with the actual book covers lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fueltheblog says:

      Ohh I will have a look into this! Great suggestion and thank you! I am glad you enjoyed it and the pictures! I personally like your Instagram account! very creative! x

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Annie says:

        Thanks 😍

        Like

  2. Great review! I dont think this is my type of book but sounds like you enjoyed it alot. I am totally in love with the pictures you have used too.! The one in front of the book case is my favorite. xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fueltheblog says:

      Thank you! πŸ™‚ it’s a shame tbh, I loved Lorrie, just sort of needed more. But still think it would be a good all in one book! Xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

