Victoria Sponge

I am partial to a good old classic such as a Victoria Sponge, so I decided to make this over the weekend, which was when I discovered that I haven’t written up a recipe on here for you to all enjoy.

So I thought today would be the day as I share with you my ultimate Victoria Sponge!


Tools 
  • Sandwich Tin’s x 2
  • Electric Whisk (Hand held or standing) 
  • Mixing Bowls
  • Spatular
  • Scales
  • Measuring Jug 
  • Cooling Rack
  • Icing Bag and Nozzle 

Ingredients

For the cupcakes:

  • 200g Softened Butter
  • 200g Caster Sugar
  • 4 eggs beaten
  • 200g Self Raising Flour
  • 2 tbsp Milk
  • 1 tbsp Baking Powder

For the icing:

  • 100g Softened Butter
  • 140g Icing Sugar (Sieved)
  • 1 tbsp Vanilla Extract
  • Jam – Homemade or a Jar
  • Icing Sugar to decorate

Method

1. Pre-heat your oven to 170 degrees (fan) and prep your sandwich tins with grease proof paper and butter). Then start to prep your ingredients by weighing them all out. For this recipe I weigh them as I add them to the bowl as it is an all in one method. 

2. Mix all of the ingredients together until you have a smooth cake batter. Add more milk (If needed) to make it smoother,  and a dropping consistency. 

3.  Once the mixture is at the desired dropping consistency, spoon the mixture into the the two tins. To ensure they are equal, you can weigh the tins to make sure they are the same weight.

4. Bake in oven for 20 minutes – or until golden brown and the cake spring’s back after a light touch. 

5. Once cooked, turn out onto a cooling rack and leave to cool.  

IMG_0302

5. To make the butter cream filling, beat the butter until smooth and creamy then gradually add the icing sugar. I used an electric wish to combine. Once all of the mixture is combined add and mix in the vanilla extract. 

6. To ensure my cream was even, I used a pipping bag. So spoon the mixture into the bag and prep the base of your sponge.

7. To do this, I took a few spoonfuls of Jam out of the jar (I know I didn’t make my own jam this time) and my top tip here is to put it into a mug and stir with a spoon to make it a good consistency to spread on the base sponge.

8. Once you have put a layer of jam on the top of the bottom sponge, pipe on your butter cream in a circular motion around the cake. I used the largest open nozzle (not sure on the name) to do this. See screen grab below of a video I posted on my Instagram page. 

IMG_5641

9. Put the top sponge on the cake and dust with icing sugar. Then serve and eat. You can also keep it in an airtight container to save for later. 

 

So there we go a nice and easy recipe for a Classic Victoria Sponge. In the past, I have made my own jam but I cheated a bit with this recipe, still yummy but nothing beats your own jam!

Let me know if you give this recipe a try or if you have a better/different recipe for a Victoria Sponge, theres always room for improvement – even if this iS near perfection according to most!

Until next time!

George

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Yummy! looks picture perfect! I once tried and thought i’d be lazy and cook the entire batter in one cake tin then cut it in half. silly me…it dried out the sponge haha!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fueltheblog says:

      Oh no! That’s not good! Maybe it needed a different mixture for one large tin! Interesting concept tho! X

      Like

  2. threebrits says:

    so cute! Cant go wrong with a good old classic, we love a Victoria sponge!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fueltheblog says:

      Thank you! I couldn’t agree more x

      Like

  3. Simple but beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fueltheblog says:

      Thank you! I couldn’t agree more!

      Like

Leave a Reply

