The Last Piece of my Heart – Paige Toon

Another book which has been on my radar for a while now thanks to the wonders of social media! So when I spotted it on Netgalley I jumped at the chance to read it. I got stuck straight in, as I’ve never read a bad Paige Toon book and I wanted a change of scene from the book I was reading at the time. It wasn’t until I reached the end of the book on Netgalley that I found out it was just a sample, so as you can imagine, I headed straight to Amazon to purchase her latest read! 

The Plot:

Travel writer/journalist Bridget has dreams to make her quirky blog into a novel. Only trouble is she is having trouble getting a book deal. So to pay the bills and to get by she takes an opportunity to be a Ghostwriter for a sequel to a bestselling novel. Sadly, the author (Nikki) passed away suddenly and the family have decided to continue with the book in her honour.  

So Bridget heads to Cornwall to help write the book and to try and get her foot in the door of the publishing world. Only, Bridget didn’t expect to find herself in Cornwall also and as she begins to get to know Nicole’s (Nikki’s) grieving family Bridget’s priorities begin to alter.

My Thoughts:

I stick by my earlier statement, ‘I have never read a bad Paige Toon book’, just for me this wasn’t her best. After a lot of thought, I decided to give this book 3 stars mainly as I didn’t have that overcoming sense of joy once I had finished it.

Don’t get me wrong, Paige has done a great job here with both the characters and storyline, just I personally think I wanted something more. Yes it was a lovely and heartwarming read and if you love Paige Toon, go and buy this – you will love it!

Maybe, it was the fact I found myself guessing the ending rather early on and that I eye rolled a number of times at different scenarios. I could see what was happening and maybe I didn’t want it to. Thing is though, everyone interprets a book differently and maybe I am the reason I have given it three stars. Looking back at the book now I can see that it gave you a lot of detail/content for a relatively small book.

It was great having these different elements to the story, we were learnt about Bridget’s past relationships and why she was writing a blog on her ex’s. We also got to travel with Bridget and then we also got to explore Nikki’s world, including all about her best selling novel and her life at home. A lot of different elements to this book which is why it was a lovely enjoyable read. If your a Paige Toon fan, you will like this.

Its a nice, heartwarming, light read and again it would be a perfect holiday read for by the pool.

I think thats another reason why I didn’t enjoy it as much as I could have as I read it over a (fairly) long period of time as I had to buy the book and await its arrival after reading the first few chapters on Netgalley. Maybe if I had read it in one or a couple of sittings I would have enjoyed it more.

Since looking further into the book I see that Bridget had a small role in another Paige Toon book, ‘The Longest Holiday’. I read this book earlier in the year and found it to be another fun and enjoyable read by Paige Toon. To read my full review click here.

Have you read this book? I would love to know your thoughts, I think I am alone in my way of thinking, Goodreads has highlighted that to me!

Until next time!

George.

 

Leave a Reply

