Dear Amy – Helen Callaghan

Just going to put it out there – this book took me forever to read and 100% put me into a mini book slump! That’s not to say that it didn’t get better but boy oh boy does it take its time!

The Plot:

img_6520

A local schoolgirl has been kidnapped for a number of weeks when the agony aunt of the ย local advice column, ‘Dear Amy’ starts to receive letters from a young girl who has been kidnapped. The only thing is, the letter is from a young girl Bethan Avery, who went missing 20 years ago.

Myย Thoughts:

This book is so so promising. As you read the blurb you are fascinated, you want to find out more about this letter which Margot (Agony Aunt of Dear Amy) recieved. Why did she get sent it and how. Is it a joke?

Yet for me,ย this book was very disappointing. It was too slow, way too slow, it lacked the oomph it needed and for me (I am sorry to say) is my least favourite psychological thriller this year. To help give you an understanding of how slow this book was, I had reached around 60% of my way through the book (200+ pages) and there was still no action, nothing. No drama, no storyline making me want to pick up the book, just boring lifeless sentences. (Wow that was a bit harsh, but I am afraid its true).

I can safely say I wasn’t hooked as it took me a month to read this one book. I am glad I didn’t give up as I didn’t see the twist coming, yet that could have been as I wasn’t invested in the book. I liked the twist and I always enjoy it more when I don’t see them coming, but the lead up to said twist was sad. It lacked the tension needed and I was not gripped.

I wasn’t a massive fan of the writing personally which could be another reason why I struggled to pick this up. Some days it would just sit in front of me as I ate my lunch and I had no desire to read it. The sentences were short and in my opinion didn’t flow, it was dull to read.

I did enjoy the twist and the narrative did get better once we got to it. The book picked up pace and we were finally getting somewhere, just it took a bit too long and just when it had improved it ended. Also, there were a few unanswered questions, it would have been great to hear a bit more backstory about the kidnapper himself. Just to understand why.

I admire Helen for her ideas with this book and her complex characters, but I am afraid Margot as the lead role in this story just wasn’t for me.

Unfortunately, however it appears that the GoodReads community feels the same way as me as even though it has received a fair few stars, most people were disappointed, especially with the first 3/4 of the book.

I am really sorry for the non-positive review, I did really want to enjoy this book yet it wasn’t for me. So I am afraid to say I wouldn’t recommend this book anytime soon. Saying that however, my sister LOVED IT. Showing that all people interpret books differently.

So have you read this? I would love to hear your thoughts. I know its spurred on a bit of a discussion when I have posted the cover on Instagram. I think its a book which could divide opinion so would love to hear what you think about it.

Until next time!

George.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Annie says:

    I did read those reviews and I think I would be disappointed too so I didn’t read it in the end!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fueltheblog says:

      It was so disappointing. I wish they were wrong but they hit the nail on the head I am afraid. It just needed more tension at the beginning, more drama!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

