Being a book blogger…

Not sure if I can officially call myself a book blogger. I spent my early Monday morning browsing good reads thinking that I am simply not good enough. 

Yes I love books, but I am unable to read at the pace and level as some other people on GoodReads and Instagram. Where do you find the time? I have, recently, found that life gets in the way and because of this my reading has slacked rather a lot and I am a bit sad. 

I love reading, love love love reading, just havn’t found the time lately. So now I would like to ask for some tips. How do you make sure you read regularly? 

Do you have a set reading time? (Train, lunch, bed) 

Do you set yourself challenges? 

Do you get

Involved in readerthons? 

Have you joined a book club? 

I would love to know how to become better at reading, maybe I am reading the wrong books of late and maybe I am still in a slump. Who knows! 

So if you have any tips please do share them, as I want to feel good about my reading again. Don’t get me wrong, it’s ok for life to get in the way and spend time with those you love, but it’s also good to make time for the things you love. I miss reading, so maybe that’s it, I simply need to make the time to read. 

Please do let me know your top tips and I hope to be back with a book review for you next week! 

Until next time, 

George

5 Comments Add yours

  1. I have a goal of reading for 15 minutes a day, every day – once I’ve sat down and done my time I usually carry on for a lot longer. I try and switch genre of books so I don’t find it repetitive – so one crime, then one sci-fi etc. I also try and listen to audio books during the day when I wouldn’t traditionally be able to read/ hold a book – if I’m baking or walking somewhere for instance πŸ™‚ Hope these little tips help!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fueltheblog says:

      Oh wow thank you!! Some great tips! Will have to try the 15minutes per day and the audio books! I’ve been wanting to try an audio book for a while but not been sure I could get used to it! Thank you!

      Like

  2. I love this post. I too feel the same way sometimes but have decided that yes.. yes we are book bloggers. Who is to say we have to read tons to be classed as one? I know I read as much as I am capable of and that’s fine by me. Its more than I used to read and its increasing each year so I am improving and therefore becoming better at what I love doing.
    In reply to your questions, I try to pick up a book whenever I get the chance and sometimes I want to read it, other times I don’t. If I read a page or two and am not in the mood I put it down, but most of the time I find the hardest part is picking it up in the first place.
    I read every night in bed, even if its 1 page!
    I set myself a challenge of 1 book a week… i don’t often reach it, but its something to aim for.
    I take part in readathons if, and only if I am interested an have the time that week/weekend. I have only taken part in one this year but enjoyed it a lot.
    As for book clubs I really dont think they are for me. I read what I fancy reading at the time and most book clubs seem to read books I wouldn’t usually pick up. Okay so this is a good thing, but I have so many books on my TBR as it is, that I dont need to add books I actually have no interest in.

    I have a few little tips on my blog post called “How to read more” that might help a little, but as I say. You enjoy reading, you enjoying blogging and you do it the best you can… so yes you’re a book blogger… a brilliant one at that!

    https://thesundayfeeling.wordpress.com/2017/02/19/how-to-read-more/

    Like

    1. fueltheblog says:

      Thank you! πŸ™‚ I will try all your tips and re-read your post! I am thinking of trying a readathon this month, just I know I’m busy that weekend, which is a shame. I will try to set a time to read more! Thanks for your tips! X

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Great post! don’t feel bad about not reading as much as others, life does get in the way but, that’s life. I find audiobooks help when I’m in a slump and can be really refreshing for a change. Most libraries have them either as physical discs or as part of their online catalogues.Hope this helps. x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

